What is the Curry Stone Design Prize?

What is the Curry Stone Design Prize?

  • What is the
  • Curry Stone
  • Design Prize?

The Curry Stone Design Prize is awarded each year to honor innovative projects that use design to address pressing social justice issues. The Prize is supported by the Curry Stone Foundation.

Through the prize, we seek to highlight, honor, and reward projects that improve daily living conditions for communities around the world.  Awarded projects may improve the human spirit, increase awareness of the environment, provide shelter and clean water, or address the impacts of climate change or humanitarian crises. We value work that is considered emerging in the professional and public consciousness.


We define design broadly. We include architectural, urban, landscape, product, and graphic design, as well as projects that incorporate design thinking. We believe that design has always been concerned with the built environment and the place of people within it, but that its application has too often limited its impact to narrow segments of society. We hope this prize can help designers and non-designers be inspired to apply design approaches in improving community vitality around the globe.


The number of winners varies each year as does the amount of the financial award.  A typical single winner is awarded US$100,000. There are no restrictions on the use of the grant. The winning projects emerge from a wide pool of nominations, which are selected by a rotating team of approximately 200 contemporary design leaders from across the world. Selection is via a jury process, with the jury composed of Foundation members and invited international experts. Unsolicited proposals are not accepted.

  • People
  • Founders and Board of Directors:
    Clifford Curry, Delight Stone, Louisa Silva, Gary Feuerstein, and Andre Gustavo Guarienti de Almeida Ferreira
  • Prize Director:
    Emiliano Gandolfi
  • Weaver of All Webs:
    Eric Cesal
  • Advisors:
    Donna Cooper Read, Phoebe Curry Campbell, Rahul Mehrotra, and Kim Saunders
  • Public Relations:
    Diana Bianchini
  • Administration:
    Taryn Turner
  • Accountant:
    Cindy Luzier
  • Nomination Researchers and Writers:
    Carissa Bluestone, Laura Gottesdiener, Sarah Kuck and Francesca Recchia